Skip to content

Hello Old Friend

March 17, 2015

Reports of my death have been greatly exaggerated ~Mark Twain

Wow, it has been a while. Roughly four years have gone by since the my last post. It might seem like a long time for some, but coming out of college and hitting the ground running as a full-time trader made it seem like the blink of an eye for me. That being said, I have recently come to miss it and have the intention to start blogging again albeit on an irregular schedule that will evolve based on my free time.

What to expect

Obviously since I have been trading full time my skill set has evolved so I can only imagine that the new perspective I hope to bring to the analysis contained moving forward will be more insightful.

You will notice a few changes, the biggest one being that I no longer use R as my main language. I have all but fully moved my research stack to Python, so you can expect to see a lot more of it moving forward. As for the content, I think the focus will remain the same for the most part; algorithmic trading for the Equities markets.

Special Thank You

Finally I want to take the time to thank the readers that kept emailing and kept in touch during my absence from the blogosphere. I can only hope that the number of people that somehow find value in these short articles will grow over time and that I will meet other interesting people. You are after all the reason I write these notes. So a big Thank You to all of you.

QF

7 Comments
  1. Paolo permalink
    March 18, 2015 03:31

    Glad to hear you back 🙂

    Can I ask you what are the reasons to move to Python?

    Paolo

    • March 19, 2015 14:40

      Hi Paolo,

      I will probably post about it in the future. Also see answer to Steven.

      Best,

      QF

  2. March 18, 2015 09:49

    Welcome back QF, I’m looking forward to reading more of your posts.
    Question; why are you switching from R to Python? I’ve been ramping up with R for about 6 months now. Thanks,
    Steve

    • March 19, 2015 14:40

      Hi Steven,

      I will probably address it in a future post, but the important point is that I try to always use the tool that I find is best suited for my purpose. I will use R from time to time, Python, C++ and more and more Julia. It simply depends on what I am trying to do. I mentioned that I would be more focused on Python in the blog moving forward since I have found that I like python better for analysis and general research. Other people would prefer doing the same analysis in R and it would work just as well.

      I think R is a great language to pick up but a poor choice to learn programming, I think on balance it teaches bad coding habits compared to other actual programming language. It is after all designed to be statistical software, not a programming language in the conventional sense.

      Best,

      QF

  3. March 18, 2015 11:28

    Cool. Looking forward to further interesting posts here. Bonus for python.

  4. March 18, 2015 15:40

    …about damn time. Welcome back!

Trackbacks

  1. The Whole Street’s Daily Wrap for 3/17/2015 | The Whole Street

Comments are closed.

